MIA

Guess who’s baaaccckk???  Hey party people, what’s new in the land of Angels?  I didn’t mean to be missing in action, but when it comes to visiting with family (and having the beau meet the family for the first time… gulp), I can barely find a moment to post a tweet.  You know how it is.

Now I remember why I usually don’t go to Florida during summertime.  (I did go back for one day last summer, but it was on my way to Cancun).  It’s HOT!  2-3 showers a day- HOT.  Sweating in the shade- HOT.  If you haven’t experienced REAL humidity, go to the east coast.  Then, you will laugh with the rest of us when SoCal’s “humid” summer is the top news story.  If only for the weather, I’m glad to be back.

The great thing about having a visitor is doing the things you would normally not do.  In all of my time growing up in south Florida, I never went on an airboat tour of the everglades.  Check!  As a bonus, I met the acquaintance of resident 7-ft. alligator, Lily.

Lily

Lily

South beach always a different experience- the cheesey factor is always good for people watching.  The new Mondrian Hotel is over-the-top Miami.  Lario’s Cuban restaurant (Gloria Estefan’s) has to-die-for shredded steak and chicken with onions on a skillet (mouth is watering just thinking about it). Mango’s on Ocean is still the place to find hot salsa dancers doing their thing on top of the bar.

Gator Park

Gator Park

Pool/Catwalk at the Raleigh Hotel

Pool/Catwalk at the Raleigh Hotel

I also worked… if you can call it that.  Just so happens that Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Swim’s kickoff party was held last week.  Only in Miami (and maybe, Europe somewhere) can the photographers partake in a cold Peroni Italian beer or a rasberry Chambord cocktail at an open bar, while waiting for the sexy swim babes to strut their stuff.  The shallow water outlining the whole pool was used as a makeshift runway!  It’s going to make for a great webisode on See Jane Run, due mid-August.

Alright, that’ll do it for now.  Just getting back into the swing of things, and since I’m still on east coast time, that makes a very late night for me.  Eyelids are heavy.

Have a great week!

4 Responses to “MIA”

  1. Welcome Back! It sounds like you had a great time both for fun and work. The family liked the beau? Can’t wait to see the webisode!!
    I lived in New England until I moved here and am all too familiar with humidity. We used to get heat waves, Bermuda Highs, that included lots of humidity. You know…the humidity where when you walk out of an air conditioned building with glasses on you become suddenly blind because the glasses have fogged over! The humidity level where you can’t breath when you walk outdoors because the air is so heavy!
    PLEASE tell me you didn’t bring any humidity back with you! It was 114 at my house yesterday but only 20% humidity. I can sorta deal with the heat as long as there’s no humidity. Although I will admit the heat is getting OLD…..it’s been over 100 every day since the end of June at my house….
    So, how do you make the Raspberry Chambord cocktail? I still have some in the cabinet from my chocolate martini experimenting in February….

    • Yep, beau passed with flying colors! Just talked to my strategic partner at Dogma Studios to see if the SJR show is right on track, and I’m happy to say it is. Miami is slated for 4th week of August. I’ll have an exact date as we get into the beginning of the month. Still flushing out the inaugural intro webisode for August 3. I will include you on my mailing list for upcoming announcements.

      Ah yes, that New England heat. Yep! It’s the same thing. Oh, I can assure you that my sunglasses fogged up instantly. Here, I’ve heard it’s reached over 100 degrees inland. No thanks. I’ll have enough of that oven heat when I go to Phoenix next month. (Crazy that I always seem to go to Phoenix in August but that’s where friends and I end up celebrating my birthday. Before anyone asks, I’m forever 31).

      I don’t think I’ll be celebrating with the Raspberry Chambord cocktail. It was pretty good, but my sister just turned me onto Bacardi Limon with Cranberry juice (only from Whole Foods- not Ocean Spray).

      • I’ll look for the announcement for the webisode.
        Congrats on the beau passing — did you really doubt it?? Oh…and the family must have passed for him too?
        While in Phoenix have a DD treat for me please — large coffee, cream no sugar; wheat bagel sliced, not toasted, with veggie cream cheese on the side
        Forever 31 not 29?
        According to Garth you’ve got some morning fog there on the shore. If only it would work its way into the IE…..111 yesterday at my house… 😦

      • Little Girl Says:

        Yeah, so I tried one of the Chambord cocktails at Sunday’s show and wasn’t impressed. Had an odd aftertaste; didn’t finish it, and you know how I hate to waste. Agree, stick with the Limon and WF 365 100% Cranberry Juice Cocktail with a squeeze of lime. Ahhh, so refreshing.

Leave a comment